Rugby Sevens

Rugby Sevens at the Commonwealth Games and India 2010 Pools Declared.

New Zealand rugby Sevens Commonwealth Games Delhi 2010 

Rugby sevens has been played at three Commonwealth Games since its first appearance, at the 1998 Commonwealth Games, in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Appearing in 2002 and 2006, it is now considered a ‘Core’ sport by the Commonwealth Games Federation, necessitating its appearance at all future games, including the upcoming 2010 Games in Delhi India.

The 16th Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia saw the introduction of rugby sevens along with cricket, field Hockey and netball.

New Zealand has never lost a match at the Commonwealth Games, winning gold in all three Games at which the sport has been played.

Following is a list of medal winners in all Commonwealth Games for Rugby Sevens.

Medal Winners at the 1998 – Kuala Lumpur Games
Gold – New Zealand
Silver – Fiji
Bronze – Australia

Medal Winners at the 2002 – Manchester Games
Gold – New Zealand
Silver – Fiji
Bronze – South Africa

Medal Winners at the 2006 – Melbourne Games
Gold – New Zealand
Silver – England
Bronze – Fiji

2010 – Delhi Games

The International Rugby Board (IRB) together with the Commonwealth Games Federation has announced the pool draw for the Rugby Sevens event at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India on 11-12 October.

Marking almost exactly one year since sevens’ inclusion as an Olympic sport at the 121st IOC Session in Copenhagen, the tournament will be the first opportunity to witness its proven blend of high-octane action and competitive matches in a multi-sport Games environment.

Commanwealth Games Rugby Sevens

Commanwealth Games Rugby Sevens

Defending Commonwealth Games Sevens Champions New Zealand are top seeds and head Pool A, where they will face opening matches against World Series regulars Scotland and Canada as well as Caribbean champions Guyana, who also competed on the World Series this season in Las Vegas.

New Zealand have won all three sevens gold medals on offer so far – in 1998 (Kuala Lumpur), 2002 (Manchester) and 2006 (Melbourne).

2002 bronze medalists South Africa head Pool B and face three challenging opening ties against reigning Rugby World Cup Sevens champions Wales, Tonga and the host nation, India.

Reigning IRB Sevens World Series champions Samoa top Pool C and face matches on day one against ever-dangerous Kenya, the Cranes of Uganda and Papua New Guinea’s Puk Puks.

England head Pool D but will meet the vastly improved Australians, who finished this year’s World Series in third place behind the Samoans and New Zealand. The two rugby superpowers will also face matches against the third African team in the draw, Namibia, and Sri Lanka.

‘Memorable tournament’

“Having Sevens played at the Commonwealth Games plays an integral role in the ongoing development and promotion of Rugby around the world. The event features teams from Europe, Asia, Africa, Oceania, North America and the Caribbean and continues to attract some of the world’s top players, delivering exciting matches and attracting new fans,” said IRB President, Bernard Lapasset.

“Sevens has consistently proven to be successful at the Commonwealth Games and this year we are particularly excited that the event is being held in India, where rugby is reaching out to new, young audiences in a rapidly developing market for our sport. We are looking forward to what promises to be a memorable tournament for the global rugby family.”

Mike Hooper, Chief Executive of the Commonwealth Games Federation added: “With a record crowd of 50,000 at the final Rugby Sevens session in Melbourne in 2006, the Rugby Sevens tournament has become one of the most sought-after attractions at the Commonwealth Games, providing an excellent spectacle for both fans and television viewers.

“The inclusion of some of the world’s best Sevens teams and star players from every corner of the world continue to broaden the Games’ global appeal even further.”

The Tournament Schedule will be announced in the coming weeks.

2010 Commonwealth Games Delhi Pools:

Pool A: New Zealand, Scotland, Canada, Guyana
Pool B: South Africa, Wales, Tonga, India
Pool C: Samoa, Kenya, Uganda, Papua New Guinea
Pool D: England, Australia, Namibia, Sri Lanka, African qualifier

Venue: North Campus, Delhi University (DU)
Training Venues:
• Delhi University – 7
• Jamia Milia Islamia – 1

Competition Venue and seven Training Venues are in Delhi University. The two day competition will be held on 11 & 12 October 2010.

Teams: 16
Team size: 12 Athletes per team


1 comment - What do you think?  Posted by admin - July 6, 2010 at 14:58

Categories: Rugby Sevens, Tournaments, World Rugby   Tags:

You might also likeclose
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Youtube